Google announces yesterday that 12 February 2019 will stop the old (classic) Contacts page and everyone will get the new issue on the page.
According to the company, Google customers who are still using the old look of the classic contact page will automatically be redirected to the new topic.
Google has released an update to its Contacts page in 2015 to "offer a modern, smart and fast contact management experience". For its existing customers the new version of the page was then offered as a preview.
Google customers could enable the "Try Contacts Preview" option in the left pane on the Contacts page to go to the new Contacts layout. From there, by clicking on "Go to the old version" they could return to the classic version.
The classic page is as follows:
And the new page looks like this:
Google customers who are already using the contact preview will not notice any changes in the coming months. Those who are still in the classical appearance of Contacts will be transferred to the new project.
The change is expected to finish by 12 February 2019, as all users who still use the old page of the Contacts page will automatically be moved to the new version of Contacts. Returns to the classic version of Contacts will no longer be visible and the classic version of Contacts will be terminated.