Mozilla pre-announced change in March 2020, stating that the purpose of this new scheduled task, which is only activated if users activate it, is to help improve the Firefox by "understanding the default browser trends".
Of course, Mozilla states that no personal data is collected, because the company is only interested in "information about the current and previous default settings of the browser, as well as the version running on the operating system."
Mozilla guarantees that the data collected can not be associated with any normal profile and as soon as users turn off the telemetry, the service is automatically turned off.
Of course, as mentioned above, users can stop the service on their own by simply deleting the scheduled task from Windows 10.
"Telemetry data collection is one way we can ensure that we can understand the default browser trends in a way that helps us improve our Firefox. We hope to better understand our users and their choices around browser preferences, to continue to create a better Firefox ", Says Mozilla.
If you want to check the information that Mozilla collects from Firefox, you can open the following internal address:
This page displays information collected and details that have been stored in the past and have already been submitted to Mozilla.
Mozilla says it will keep the telemetry data for 13 months "only" after all the information is automatically removed. On the other hand, just turn off the telemetry by Firefox, your data is deleted within 30 days from Mozilla servers.