IOS 13.5 was released yesterday and many were interested in learning about the features added for COVID-19.
The new operating system for its mobile devices Apple makes face recognition easier if you wear a mask, and the password entry option appears much faster.
But the new version also brings a recording API COVID-19 on the device. The feature is opt-in which means you do not have to send (or receive) information from your device if you do not want to.
The new update feature for COVID-19 added to iOS 13.5 is enabled by default if the API is supported in the country where you live.
For example as you will see below in Greece the function is disabled as this function is not yet supported. If you live in a country that has access to the API, you can turn off logging and notifications by following these steps.
Open the Settings app and go to the Privacy - Health section.
At the top, you will see the «COVID-19 Exposure Logging ». Press it. On the next screen, turn the feature on or off. You must have Bluetooth enabled for this feature to work.
The ability to record information about COVID-19 will appear on all devices upgraded to iOS 13.5, but as mentioned above is not available in all countries. So if you press to activate the function in Greece you will see the message "Not available in your area".
According to the company, the new possibility may come later in Greece, but there are no guarantees for that.
What is virus exposure recording?
Exposure logging monitors people who have come in contact with other people. It collects information via Bluetooth and the data according to the manufacturers is not personal. Your device is assigned a random ID that is not related to Apple Your ID, phone number or any other personal information you have on your device.
This information is exchanged between other devices. They keep a log of who was close to whom. When a person records that he was infected with COVID-19, the people they come in contact with are notified of the event. They do not receive information about the person being infected as the Apple states that it protects the user's privacy.
Once you find out that you may have come in contact with someone who is positive about you COVID-19, you can choose to quarantine and wait for the symptoms to appear or get tested.