Five Eyes, Nine Eyes & 14 Eyes monitoring alliances

If you are concerned about your privacy on the internet, you probably know the terms: Five Eyes, Nine Eyes and 14 Eyes. All three of these terms are used to describe three different tracking alliances. Five Eyes

Five Eyes

The term Five Eyes is a pseudonym for the United Kingdom-United States Agreement (UKUSA by the United Kingdom-United States of America Agreement).

Despite its official name, the UKUSA agreement is made up of five different countries: the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. The agreement has its roots in an information exchange agreement between Britain and the United States since World War II.

Five Eyes are known for many and remarkable privacy scandals in recent years, such as PRISM, xkeyscore and Tempora.

Today, Five Eyes' actions are incredible. In accordance with Electronic Frontier Foundation, the five governments can force any "communication service provider" (ISPs, social media platforms, e-mail providers, mobile networks, etc.) to:

  • Apply malicious software on their users' devices.
  • Ignore the applicable laws for the instructions of Five Eyes.
  • Affect user experience.
  • They provide governments with plans for new products in advance.
  • Provide user information with secret warrants.

Nine Eyes

Another information exchange agreement. It comes from the original Five Eyes alliance and includes all members of the Five Eyes alliance, as well as Denmark, France, the Netherlands and Norway.

The powers and the exchange of information are broadly the same as the Five Eyes agreement.

14 Eyes

The 14 Eyes agreement adds five other countries to the list: Germany, Belgium, Italy, Spain and Sweden.

It should be noted that both France and Germany were members of Five Eyes 2009 and 2013 respectively. However, both agreements were not completed for several reasons.

Finally, it is important to mention Israel and Singapore. According to information, Israel has observer status in the Five Eyes main agreement, while Singapore cooperates with the group but is not an official member.

Registration in via Email

Enter your email to subscribe to the email notification service for new posts.


Read them Technology News from all over the world, with the validity of

Follow us on Google News at Google news