Flickr will start today deleting photos that are above the new limit set in November of 2018.
Flickr after was purchased by SmugMug, announced on November 2018 that it would restrict free accounts to a total of 1.000 photos and videos. The change will take effect from today, and if you are above the limit, your extra photos will be permanently deleted.
With a statement in November of 2018 had announced that the change to the limits will begin after 5 February of 2019, that is, today, and the deletion will be done starting from the older to the newest until the account contains only 1.000 the most recently uploaded files.
*Free members with more than 1,000 photos or videos uploaded to Flickr have until Tuesday, January 8, 2019, to upgrade to Pro or download content over the limit. After January 8, 2019, members over the limit will no longer be able to upload new photos to Flickr. On February 5, 2019, photos and videos over the free account 1,000 item limit will be at risk of deletion beginning with the oldest photos and videos.
If you are above the limit and want to download all your photos from Flickr there are two ways to do it.
Visit the Camera Roll below the drop-down menu on the top bar. Click Select All to select all photo groups until you select about 500 photos. Finally, click Download at the bottom of the screen to create a ZIP file. When the download is ready to come down you will receive a notification (also in the top menu).
Visit the "Albums" page below the drop-down menu at the top. Hover over any album and you will see a download icon for that album. By clicking on this icon, you can create a ZIP file for this album. Once the zip file is ready to download you will receive a notification.
Note that the creation of the ZIP file may take some time to be available for download. It depends on how much data you fill into it.