Google requires a phone number for 15GB of free storage

Google has started requiring new account holders in some regions to add a phone number to get the 15GB of free storage it gives with the gmail, the Google Drive and its Google PhotosAccounts without a phone number are limited to 5GB.

In mid-March, Google quietly updated its terms of service wording for included storage, replacing the previous statement of 15GB with “up to” 15GB (Each Google Account includes up to 15 GB of storage).

See more articles from iGuRu.gr when you search for news on Google.

A Google spokesperson confirmed to How-To-Geek that the company is testing this new storage policy for new accounts in some regions, but did not specify which regions are currently affected.

Google says the phone number requirement is there to ensure that the 15GB of free storage is given out once per person. The policy aims to stop a long-standing pattern of users creating multiple accounts to get free storage and avoid paying for Google One subscriptions.

The company says this change will help continue to provide a high-quality storage service and encourages users to use a phone number to improve their account security and data recovery methods.

Artificial intelligence tools and automation have facilitated the escalation of multiple account abuse, including the potential use by malware operators who could store stolen data in free accounts without paying.

Existing Google accounts created before this policy change are not affected.

The change affects users who prefer not to give out phone numbers to major platforms. Google offers two-factor authentication without a phone number through authenticator apps, but its storage policy specifically requires a number for full access.

Google One subscriptions start at $20 per year for 100GB, offering an alternative for users who prefer not to give out their number but need more than 5GB of storage.


Google preferences

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your message will not be published if:
1. Contains insulting, defamatory, racist, offensive or inappropriate comments.
2. Causes harm to minors.
3. It interferes with the privacy and individual and social rights of other users.
4. Advertises products or services or websites.
5. Contains personal information (address, phone, etc.).