Google Assistant: today's multilingual speech recognition

Since today, Google Assistant can speak two languages ​​at once. Initially, the new Google Assistant feature can speak a combination of English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, and Spanish. Multilingual support will be extended to include more languages ​​in the coming months.

Google Assistant is the first digital assistant from competitors Siri, Bixby, Alexa and Cortana that can "speak" two languages ​​simultaneously.
Google Assistant
Google Assistant multilingual support is available today on many assistant-running devices, such as Android smartphones, Home speakers, and tablets running Android. The only exceptions to this rule are the smart-screen speakers that contain the Google Assistant, such as the Lenovo Smart Display released last month and the JBL Link View expected in the coming weeks.

To add support in two languages, just open the Google Assistant Settings and select Assistive Languages ​​in the properties. Once enabled, you will be able to freely switch between the two options.

Google was able to do automatic multilingual speech recognition in Google Assistant using the LangID model to recognize languages. Then another algorithm is used to make speech-to-text in milliseconds. Google will later try to activate its Assistant to speak three languages ​​at a time, according to a post at Google AI blog which explains the process.

Google prepares to add more than 30 languages ​​until the end of 2018 on Google Assistant. Extending the service to new markets and non-English-speaking regions of the world is a special challenge for the company, as Google Assistant's understanding of the language has been found to be less accurate than 30 in terms of use outside of the United States.

_____________________ The Best Technology Site in Greecegns

every publication, directly to your inbox

Join the 2.112 registrants.

Written by giorgos

George still wonders what he's doing here ...

Leave a reply

Your message will not be published if:
1. Contains insulting, defamatory, racist, offensive or inappropriate comments.
2. Causes harm to minors.
3. It interferes with the privacy and individual and social rights of other users.
4. Advertises products or services or websites.
5. Contains personal information (address, phone, etc.).