A researcher He discovered that the delete button in the Google AI Studio interface uses a misleading indication to lie that “your files will be permanently deleted after 30 days”. In reality, it does not delete the files, does not delete the conversation, and does not destroy any objects in the backend system. All it does is move the startup file belonging to the user interface — a simple JSON file — to the Google Drive recycle bin folder.
Google's plan was that since the Drive trash automatically empties after 30 days, the JSON file would disappear forever from the user's view. Google believed it was completely covered up. It assumed that the user would never have the technical means to view the files again, and in one particular case, the JSON of a conversation, erasing any evidence that it never deleted the obscenities from its internal servers.





