Linux 5.0 kernel was released because Linus had no other fingers

The new Linux kernel series has finally been released. The Linux 5.0 kernel series is now available for everyone as the Torvalds ξεκίνησε σήμερα ένα νέο κύκλο ανάπτυξης, κυκλοφορώντας παράλληλα την πρώτη τελική έκδοση του πυρήνα.

The development cycle of the new Linux 5.0 kernel series started two months ago, during which seven RCs (Release Candidates) were published for testing paving the way for this of the edition.

Linux 5

This particular change from version 4 to 5 doesn't mean anything other than the fact that the of Linux 5.x is newer than version 4.x.

“Οι συνολικές αλλαγές για όλες τις κυκλοφορίες της έκδοσης 5.0 θα είναι μεγάλες, αλλά θα ήθελα να επισημάνω (και πάλι) ότι οι του πυρήνα 5.0 δεν θα έχουν τίποτα παραπάνω από τις εκδόσεις 4.x που άρχισαν να αυξάνονται σε αριθμό και δεν μπορούμε να τις μετρήσουμε στα δάχτυλα των χεριών και των ποδιών”, δήλωσε ο Linus Torvalds σε μια ανακοίνωση στο mailing list.

The overall changes for all of the 5.0 release are much bigger. But I'd like to point out (yet again) that we don't do feature- releases, and that “5.0” doesn't mean anything more than that the 4.x numbers started getting big enough that I ran out of fingers and toes

Noting that although the change in the version number does not mean anything, the Linux 5.0 kernel introduces some interesting features such as support to FreeSync AMDGPU open-source graphics driver.

The Linux 5.0 kernel also brings a new power programming feature for enhanced ενέργειας σε συσκευές που χρησιμοποιούν ARM big.LITTLE CPUs, υποστήριξη Adiantum file system σε fscrypt και υποστήριξη για swap files σε συστήματα Btrfs.

Of course, too many drivers have been updated, and new ones have been added. The Linux 5.0 kernel will be available for download shortly from We will see it very soon and in Cutting edge distributions like Arch Linux. The Best Technology Site in Greecefgns

Subscribe to Blog by Email

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Written by giorgos

George still wonders what he's doing here ...

Leave a reply

Your email address is not published. Required fields are mentioned with *

Your message will not be published if:
1. Contains insulting, defamatory, racist, offensive or inappropriate comments.
2. Causes harm to minors.
3. It interferes with the privacy and individual and social rights of other users.
4. Advertises products or services or websites.
5. Contains personal information (address, phone, etc.).