Can I delete Windows.old?

When you upgrade Windows, you may notice that the disk space that contains the operating system is noticeably reduced. There can be many reasons, but the main reason behind this is usually a new folder that is created when you install your update. For example, if Windows is installed on the C: drive, you will notice that there is an additional Windows.old folder.

For those who don't know, Windows.old is a folder that is automatically created when you upgrade to a new version of Windows. It essentially contains files from your previous installation, saved programs, some user data, essential Windows components and files, and more.

See more articles from iGuRu.gr when you search for news on Google.

The purpose of this folder is to have a system backup that you can restore to if you encounter problems while using the new version of Windows you upgraded to. You can find these recovery options under System > Recovery in Windows Settings.

So the Windows.old folder serves a very useful purpose. Now we will answer whether you can safely delete it.

Well, the good thing about this list is that it is automatically deleted within a few weeks.

However, if you are out of disk space, you can delete it manually. As long as you have administrator rights on your computer, you can safely delete this folder and reclaim the occupied disk space.

It should be noted that you cannot delete the Windows.old folder through File Explorer. You will see errors.

One way to do this is by following the instructions below:

In Windows search, search for the Disk Cleanup utility.

Select the disk containing your Windows installation.
Click Clean Up System Files

Again, select the disk that contains your Windows installation. Wait a few minutes for the scan to complete.
Once this scan is complete, you will see more options in Disk Cleanup. Select Previous Windows installation(s) and click OK.
Windows will inform you that if you delete this folder, you will not be able to revert to this earlier version of the operating system. Click OK and wait a few minutes for the folder to be deleted.

That's it! Keep in mind that the deletion will be irreversible. So proceed at your own risk and only if you really want to free up space on your disk.


Google preferences

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your message will not be published if:
1. Contains insulting, defamatory, racist, offensive or inappropriate comments.
2. Causes harm to minors.
3. It interferes with the privacy and individual and social rights of other users.
4. Advertises products or services or websites.
5. Contains personal information (address, phone, etc.).