Twitter Change privacy policy: What am I doing now?

The released a new one on Wednesday, for everyone concerned about how their personal data is being tracked, stored and used.

In the new policy, the company announced its plans to discontinue the provision of its not previously tracked privacy protection, to store cookies for a longer period of time, and to change the way Twitter will shares your personal data.
Twitter

“Twitter's announcement is bad news for privacy on Twitter,” Marc Rotenberg, president of the nonprofit Cybersecurity Intelligence Center, told The Associated Press. "The company stopped supporting Do Not Track and gave advertisers access to more of its users' data."

But let's look at things from the beginning:

Twitter will also roll out a new set of controls that gives you the to opt out of the provision of certain data to third parties. You'll just have to remember to do so when these options roll out over the next month.

What changes to privacy policy?

As mentioned above, "Do Not Track" no longer exists: The new privacy policy, which will take effect on June 18, removes the "Do Not Track" option - a privacy preference that allows you to opt out of monitoring third party services on the site. Although, according to The AP, many social networks, although they have Do Not Track, do not apply it.

Cookies: When you visit a site, you click on share or on a built-in button on a tweet website, Twitter uses tracking cookies to store information relevant to you. Previously, the platform stored this information for 10 days. According to the new privacy update, Twitter extends the storage time to 30 days. Tripling storage time means that they will have more data and that means they will be able to create a more complete profile for you.

This change will not apply to those living in the European Union or in the European Free Trade Association Member States: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Sharing your data: This part of the new policy is a bit murky, but essentially, Twitter is changing the way it shares your data with third parties. The worrying part is that some select partnership agreements will link the data to your personal information such as your name and your mail, which means Twitter partners will be able to access a more complete profile of you.

The good news is that Twitter gives you the option to revoke access. But you should know that Twitter follows the approach: "he agrees until he says I do not agree." What does this mean; The company assumes that you have given it permission until you "say" the opposite through the settings.

How can I stop my data from leaking?

By removing "Do not Track" and changing the way your data is shared, the site states that it will introduce new personalization and data settings that offer even more detailed control over how they [use] your data ”This means you can choose which information can be shared and which can not.

This page seeks to authorize personalized advertising, personalization across devices, access to your location, tracking, of Twitter content online and sharing data with selected partners.

In the mobile app, go to “Settings and privacy”, “Privacy protection and ” and then “Privacy and data.” This will take you to a page where you can enable or disable Twitter's access to your information. You should also do the same in your browser by adjusting your preferences.

You just need to know that the default setting for all your data is on.

What to do?

If you want to receive custom ads, then you do not need to do anything in your settings. Twitter will soon use your information to customize the ads you see.

If you want to share some information, but not with others, then you should go to the personalization and data page and choose which settings you want to enable and which not. If you're still outraged by the amount of information being shared, select the “rep of all".

iGuRu.gr The Best Technology Site in Greecefgns

Written by giorgos

George still wonders what he's doing here ...

Leave a reply

Your email address is not published. Required fields are mentioned with *

Your message will not be published if:
1. Contains insulting, defamatory, racist, offensive or inappropriate comments.
2. Causes harm to minors.
3. It interferes with the privacy and individual and social rights of other users.
4. Advertises products or services or websites.
5. Contains personal information (address, phone, etc.).