European Commission slaps Alphabet, Amazon, Apple, Meta and Microsoft

The European Commission named six major technology companies (Alphabet, Amazon, Apple, ByteDance, Meta and Microsoft) as guardians of the new law on digital markets (DMA). She eIt is the first time the companies have been designated as watchdogs since the legislation came into force earlier this year.

digital markets act

The committee identified 22 key services provided by these companies that will now be subject to increased controls. These services include Windows, LinkedIn, Bing Ads, Google Search and the App Store.

Companies designated as gatekeepers will have six months to comply with the obligations arising from the Digital Markets Act. This time is intended to limit anti-competitive behavior and promote fair digital markets. According to the DMA, designated gatekeepers should open up their services, giving third parties access to essential services such as app stores, operating systems and cloud infrastructure.

Gatekeepers will also be prohibited from using data from one service to favor another, such as using data from a social media platform to benefit an e-commerce marketplace owned by the same .


Today's decisions will be followed by a review process after 45 days at Alphabet, Amazon, Apple, ByteDance, Meta, Microsoft and Samsung on whether they should be gatekeepers or not.

The committee also announced separate investigations into whether certain services provided by Microsoft and Apple – including Bing, Edge, Bing Ads and iMessage – should be excluded from the gatekeeper definition based on the companies' arguments.

Failure to comply with the DMA could result in fines of up to 10% of a company's annual turnover and up to 20% for repeat offences. The commission will also be able to impose remedies by forcing the sale of business units. The Best Technology Site in Greecefgns

Subscribe to Blog by Email

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Written by giorgos

George still wonders what he's doing here ...

Leave a reply

Your email address is not published. Required fields are mentioned with *

Your message will not be published if:
1. Contains insulting, defamatory, racist, offensive or inappropriate comments.
2. Causes harm to minors.
3. It interferes with the privacy and individual and social rights of other users.
4. Advertises products or services or websites.
5. Contains personal information (address, phone, etc.).